Cherry Shortcake Roll Up

cherryshortcakerollupcherryshortcakeslice

I canned some beautiful Montmorency pie cherries this week and one jar did not process fully, so it needs to be used in a timely fashion.    Perhaps it’s not related, but Mr. Flour was actually standing in the kitchen hoping that jars would not process so I’d bake with the cherries right away.   Pie cherries are so precious.   They are exceptionally difficult to find and I was fortunate to purchase 10 lbs at the Columbia City Farmers Market from Tonnemaker Orchards fresh picked that morning.   I cannot tell you the hours and time I put into locating cherries each year.  They are so costly my retirement is now uncertain — but I still think they’re worth it!

This fall I’m planting my own cherry trees so I won’t continually have this issue.

Cherry Shortcake Roll Up

First, prepare the basic Shortcake dough.

1 Pint (2C) Tart Cherries, setting aside juice (for fresh washed pitted tart cherries – use bottled Cherry Juice – I like Trader Joe’s) **Don’t use eating cherries!**
1 C Cherry Juice
1/2 C Sugar
3 T Corn Starch

Preheat oven to 400.  In a small dish, whisk together 1/4 C Cherry Juice and corn starch.  Set aside as a slurry.  In a heavy saucepan, bring remaining cherry juice and sugar to a boil.  Dribble in slurry and mixture will thicken immediately.  Remove from heat.   Fold in cherries.   Set aside to cool, and roll out shortcake dough to about 1/2″ thickness in a rough square or oblong.   Spread cooled cherry mixture onto shortcake.   Gently roll up, and seal edges well, using a fork or your fingers, and egg white.   Bake for 25 minutes.
cherries1If I don’t have home canned cherries, I use Oregon Pie Cherries – the tart red.  You can buy frozen organic

cherryslurryCorn Starch slurry

cherries2Cherry Juice and sugar, just beginning to boil…

cherries3Cherry shortcake filling, ready to cool…

cherries4Filling the shortcake

cherries5Roll gently, and here’s a tip:   roll it *on* the silpat, on your pan.   Email that to an hour ago when I did NOT do that and had to transfer it!

cherries6In the oven, ready to bake!

3 thoughts on “Cherry Shortcake Roll Up

  1. Pingback: Cherries – Have you been missing out? | Dee's Fitness

Leave a Reply

